My Settings

Select your browsing options below

My Country
My Currency
My Language
View your basket
Login to your account

Register > Forgotten? >
United Kingdom Flag

< Back to Events

The 2016 Giro d'Italia will start in Apeldoorn and will take the riders through Calabria and the Alps before finishing in Turin. 

Race organisers RCS have also confirmed that the race will contain three individual time trials, but will not hold a team time trial as it has in previous seasons. 

Alberto Contador won the last edition of the Giro d'Italia, beating Fabio Aru and Mikel Landa. The Spaniard will not return in 2016, however, as he aims for victory in the Tour de France. Instead, Vincenzo Nibali is expected to lead the line in terms of the GC favourites. The Astana rider won the Giro d'Italia in 2013 and returns looking for another title. 

Overall there are seven mountain stages in the 2015 race, and seven stages for the sprinters. The race also has 61 kilometres of individual time trialling, with no team time trial included. The race starts with a individual time trial (not prologue), while the full race distance covers 3,383km (average stage length 161km).


About Cyclestore
Sign up for Cyclestore news